Caves or tents?

Poll:Do you prefer sleeping in caves or tents?

26 Jul 2011 20:29 #3404 by dunmor
Caves or tents? was created by dunmor
I'm new to hiking in the high Drakensburg. Looking for advice on whats better to stay in:
1. Cave or
2. Tent

If you have a tent, why would you want to stay in a cave? Is there something that i'm missing?
Can you also tell me about:
1. Warmth issues
2. Wind

Are there always places to pitch a tent?

Thanks
Duncan

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jul 2011 06:02 - 27 Jul 2011 06:13 #3406 by JonWells
Replied by JonWells on topic Caves or tents?
Recently Ive come to the conclusion that caves are better in summer, tents better in winter.

Summer- Often rains, and when sun is out it burns you to a crisp so I find caves are best.

Winter- The last thing you want is a big patch of icy shade, so tents are awesome in the winter sun!

In terms of warmth, a cave is probably a little warmer, but with a decent sleeping bag you should be fine in a tent. Some caves can be a little windy, so at least inside a tent you're generally out of it.
Last edit: 27 Jul 2011 06:13 by JonWells.

More
27 Jul 2011 06:31 #3407 by ghaznavid
Replied by ghaznavid on topic Caves or tents?
Its a bit like asking how long a piece of string is, if you are hiking up the Hidden Valley at Garden Castle you will have your choice of around 10-15 good caves which are well drained and fairly warm, if you hike up towards Blind Mans Corner but don't plan on reaching Nkosozana Cave on the escarpment on the first night, then I am not aware of a cave that you could sleep in.