Wolkberg March 2018

14 Feb 2018 07:50 - 14 Feb 2018 07:51 #72815 by Croco
Wolkberg March 2018 was created by Croco
Hi

Planning on doing wolkberg early March.
I am curious on the best area to visit.

Right now the plan is to drive up to the hut. From there head down into wonderwoud for 2 nights. I suspect the area will be slow going so not really planning on doing much more. Unless there are some lekka pools or falls in wonderwoud.

Also one random question.
How safe is the area to solo hike in terms of people or animal attack.
I have had some run ins with leopards but we were a group. And im no expert on leopard but i suspect a solo hiker would not be as intimidating.
Last edit: 14 Feb 2018 07:51 by Croco.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Feb 2018 10:40 #72816 by AdrianT
Replied by AdrianT on topic Wolkberg March 2018

Croco wrote: I have had some run ins with leopards but we were a group. And im no expert on leopard but i suspect a solo hiker would not be as intimidating.

You won't have an issue with leopards even on your own, on foot. If on the very rare chance you are in close contact they will back away with raised hands and standing your ground. I wouldn't worry about them at all. They are more afraid than you are. It goes without saying that to run towards them or advance to one if cornered would have a very different outcome. You can speak to some game rangers to confirm this :thumbsup:
The following user(s) said Thank You: ccjoubert

More
14 Feb 2018 11:49 #72817 by Croco
Replied by Croco on topic Wolkberg March 2018
Cool thx Adrian T. Leopards are always my biggest fear when bunu bashing. Dont know why. Perhaps i was mauled to death by one in a previous life.

I have attached a KMZ file. There is one area i am concerned with. Not sure if it will be passable.
If anyone can have a look that knows the area it will be greatly appreciated to have a look.

Please login or register to view the file attached to this post.