Giants Castle escarpment

10 Aug 2011 11:07 - 10 Aug 2011 11:13 #3568 by krimpvark
Hi there, I'm pretty new to the VE crew, but it looks like this is the place to be for info! I am planning on doing the above route for the first time over the weekend of 19-21 August. It looks as though I may have to go solo, so I would love any words of wisdom or insider tips! Also, if anyone has a path of least resistance from pass to pass, it would be magical!
Last edit: 10 Aug 2011 11:13 by krimpvark.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Aug 2011 07:12 #3628 by intrepid
Replied by intrepid on topic Giants Castle escarpment
Hi krimpvark,

for both passes write-ups and GPS data is available on this site. Have look for them, hopefully they are easy enough to find.

You have 4 hurdles on the escarpment: the ridge coming off Popple, Bannerman, Durnford and Long Wall. Bannerman and Durnford are the steepest. I would stick fairly closely to the edge, otherwise you'd be missing out. You can bypass the Bannerman summit, if you want, by going down/up the valley behind it where the cave is, and you can go up/down the valley behind Bond, Poterill and Erksine - the rest I wouldn't try bypass. You'd have to follow the Lesotho valleys otherwise, which wouldn't be the point, and there are also lots of kraals around, especially in the Jarateng valley. How you cross Durnford can be interesting. There is an easy scramble with a little bit of exposure, leading straight down to the northern variation of Jarateng Pass (behind Poterill). Otherwise, walk a little North-West of the Durnford summit, along the the ridge to find alternate descents into the valley. Have a look for the Grand Traverse GPS data file in the Downloads section. This will give you an idea of the route you can take through the area.